HERBERT-WEHNER-HAUS

OFFICE BUILDING, DRESDEN, 2019
WITH HINRICHS WILKENING ARCHITEKTEN (FACADE DESIGN)

Joint building ventures are a good innovation. A number of occupants band together to collectively acquire property to execute a design according to their common interests. These interests can vary widely. Most joint building ventures simply want good-quality and affordable housing. Others want to jointly establish commercial and creative areas. Our task was to design a building for a joint building venture composed of various social-democratic institutions, their roots stretching back over decades, indeed in part over centuries.

How to start? By talking. By talking a lot: with the one institution and then with another one, and then with a third, and then back to the beginning again. One meets wonderful people and realises that they all want the same thing: a common place that emanates a spirit of solidarity and collectivism. How to find such a place? By searching. We jointly explored some 35 locations in Dresden before it became evident that the place had to come into being on Devrientstraße, behind the workshops of the „Semperoper“. Now it’s there, and it’s finished – the Herbert-Wehner-Haus. From its architecture you can see that it has come and has come to stay. And that’s what we wished the wonderful people who have an effect in this building – may the spirit of solidarity and collectivism appear, and may it remain forever!

PROJECT TEAM

FRITHJOF MEISSNER
CHRISTOPH SEIBT
THOMAS TUTUREA
ALEXA BARTSCH
MICHAEL AHMED ABD ALLA
LUKAS GEORG WIESER
STEFANIE LENNARTZ

Photography: Simon Menges, Till Schuster

Herbert Wehner (1906-1990)

The new building is named after Herbert Wehner, the long-standing parliamentary party chairman of the SPD Bundestag group and minister in the government of Willy Brandt. He was born in 1906 in Dresden.

©Herbert-und-Greta-Wehner-Stiftung

The site is situated in the middle of the city centre next to the “Erlweinspeicher” and the State Parliament building.

Section and different units

The building is based on a 2.60-metre-wide grid that enables it to be divided into single, group, and open-plan offices. In addition this allows the creation of barrier-free connections and work stations.

Ground floor
1st floor
2nd floor
3rd floor
4th floor
5th floor

Project numbers

4 OCCUPANTS

15 MONTHS’ CONSTRUCTION PERIOD

2,100 m2 FLOOR AREA

3,500 m2 GROSS FLOOR SPACE

Jan Wiese Architekten GmbH
Neuenburger Strasse 13
D - 10969 Berlin

T +49 (0)30.43659424

F +49 (0)30.43659425

POST@JWA.berlin

Applications:
Annett Schneider
bewerbung@jwa.berlin

press inquiries:
Franziska Wünsch
presse@jwa.berlin

management inquiries:
Claudia Wodrig
buero@jwa.berlin

Internship requests:
(minimum duration of six months)
praktikum@jwa.berlin

HERBERT-WEHNER-HAUS

BÜROGEBÄUDE, DRESDEN-ALTSTADT, LPH 1-8, 2019
MIT HINRICHS WILKENING ARCHITEKTEN (FASSADENENTWURF)

Baugemeinschaften sind eine gute Erfindung. Viele Nutzer finden sich zusammen, um gemeinsam ein Grundstück zu erwerben und um es nach ihren gemeinsamen Interessen zu gestalten. Es gibt die unterschiedlichsten Interessen. Die meisten Baugemeinschaften wollen einfach gut und preiswert wohnen. Andere wollen gemeinsam ein Gewerbe- und Kreativquartier schaffen. Unsere Aufgabe war ein Gebäude für eine Baugemeinschaft verschiedener sozialdemokratischer Institutionen mit Jahrzehnte, teilweise Jahrhunderte alten Wurzeln.

Wie fängt man an? Mit reden. Mit sehr viel reden, mit einer Institution, dann mit der anderen und dann mit der dritten und wieder von vorn. Man trifft tolle Menschen und stellt fest, dass alle das gleiche wollen: Einen gemeinsamen Ort, der einen Geist von Solidarität und Gemeinschaft versprüht. Wie findet man den? Mit Suchen. Ungefähr 35 Orte in Dresden haben wir gemeinsam untersucht bis wir wussten, dass der Ort an der Devrientstraße hinter den Werkstätten der Semperoper entstehen muss. Nun ist es da und es ist fast fertig – das Herbert-Wehner-Haus. Man kann an seiner Architektur erkennen, dass es gekommen ist, um zu bleiben. Und das ist es, was wir den tollen Menschen wünschen, die in diesem Haus wirken. Möge der Geist der Solidarität und Gemeinschaft kommen und möge er für immer bleiben.

Fertigstellung im November 2019

PROJEKTTEAM

FRITHJOF MEISSNER
CHRISTOPH SEIBT
THOMAS TUTUREA
LUKAS GEORG WIESER
STEFANIE LENNARTZ

Fotos: JWA, Till Schuster

Herbert Wehner (1906-1990)

Benannt wird das neue Haus nach Herbert Wehner, dem langjährigen Fraktionsvorsitzenden der SPD-Bundestagsfraktion und Minister in der Brandt-Regierung. Er wurde 1906 in Dresden geboren.

©Herbert-und-Greta-Wehner-Stiftung

Das Grundstück befindet sich in zentraler innerstädtischer Lage neben Erlweinspeicher und Landtagsgebäude. Es bildet den Auftakt zum sogenannten „Kunstquartier Devrientstraße“.

Schnitt und Nutzerverteilung

Zwei Kerne beinhalten die vertikale Erschließung des Gebäudes.

Das Gebäude ist auf einem 2,60 m breiten Raster aufgebaut, das die Einteilung in Einzel-, Gruppen- und Großraumbüros zulässt. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht es auch die Schaffung von barrierefreien Durchgängen und Arbeitsplätzen.

Erdgeschoss
1. Obergeschoss
2. Obergeschoss
3. Obergeschoss
4. Obergeschoss
5. Obergeschoss

Das Projekt in Zahlen

4 Nutzer

15 Monate Bauzeit

2.100 m2 NUTZFLÄCHE

3.500 m2 BRUTTOGRUNDFLÄCHE

Jan Wiese Architekten GmbH
Neuenburger Strasse 13
D - 10969 Berlin

T +49 (0)30.233213800

F +49 (0)30.233213899

POST@JWA.berlin

Ansprechpartnerin für Bewerbungen:
Annett Schneider
bewerbung@jwa.berlin

Ansprechpartnerin für Presseanfragen:
Franziska Wünsch
presse@jwa.berlin

Ansprechpartnerin Geschäftsführung:
Claudia Wodrig
buero@jwa.berlin